Polka Dot Affair Part 1

12 Jun

I was recently asked to create some splendid treats for a polka dot themed birthday party for a very special little boy in my life. I of course, being myself, went overboard. But hey, it’s what I do. Especially when there are polka dots involved, because as anyone who knows me can tell you, I am obsessed with polka dots.

I’ll start out the little polka dot adventure with my polka dot petit fours.

 

Image

 

I love these little cakes. I traditionally make my petit fours with pound cake as it’s a nice heavy cake that is easily carved and doesn’t have as many crumbs.

Image

Plus, using a really dense cake allows for the poured fondant to more easily cover them with only one coat. I prefer to use poured fondant on petit fours as opposed to rolled fondant as it’s not as thick of a coating and you get a better cake to icing ratio. Oh yes, petit fours are that official.

Image

Petit fours are almost as much fun to eat as they are to make. Or maybe they are almost as much fun to make as they are to eat. I dunno, they’re fun either way!

Image

Leave a Reply

